Handmade Brown Sugar Body Scrub

4 Jan

Brown Sugar Body ScrubThis Christmas I was determined to MAKE my friends and family members gifts instead of buying pre-packaged ones. For women who have it all there’s lots of pressure to pick the perfect gift but how can anyone diss a heartfelt gift made by hand with love!

Christmas was only a few weeks away and I was having trouble coming up with a good idea.  Thankfully, just before I was ready to give up I came across this link on Twitter promoting a “How-To” article for Body Scrubs. It looked easy so I decided to give it a try. 

Forgive me, I forgot to take a picture of the ingredients as I mixed them but I’ve posted my list below. I tweaked the recipe a bit to incorporate items I already had on hand. My friends and family should thank me because they got the good stuff – like raw honey and organic vanilla, lol. And you wondered why your skin was so soft…

In order to fill two loosely packed average size mason jars I mixed the following ingredients together in one large bowl:

  • 2 cups of chunky brown (cane) sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of honey
  • 2/3 of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of vanilla
  •  I then added about 6 drops of lavender essential oil. Peppermint would have also been great but lavender was all I had on hand.

Brown Sugar Body Scrub

After mixing everything really really well I gently dropped spoonfuls of the mix into the mason jars until they were mostly full.

You’ll need to remake a batch depending on the number of jars you hope to fill. The oil will settle on the bottom, don’t let that bother you. Simply instruct recipients to stir/shake the mixture before using.

My cuzzo said she loved it. It really does make your skin super soft. Let me know if it works well for you too.

♥AGS

Leave a Reply

