Curlformers on 4B/4C Natural Hair

5 Jan

I’ve been natural since January 2009 but the last two years I’ve gotten super bored with my hair. As a result, I’ve been very rough with my tresses and have vowed to give them more TLC – I have even committed to experimenting with styles before transitioning to locs later this year. As many around me have probably noticed, I got a little too content with the puff I rocked most of this winter, so before my hair breaks off any further (yup, the damage has been done) I’ve decided to give some fun new styles a try…

When I say I’m bored, I really mean I’m bored with two strand twists and twist-outs. Instead of trying a twist-out based hairstyle I decided to go with Curlformers. I purchased a kit from my local Sally’s Beauty supply store. Before curling, I washed and detangled my hair with
a Denman brush. After applying my favorite leave-in conditioner, Kinky Curly Knot Today, I then applied a light layer of oil I mixed up a while back. Followed by a dab of Oyin Handmade’s Burnt Sugar Pomade to each section as I went along.

I basically followed the instructions on this video and was careful not to over-twist the roots. It took a few tries before I got the hang of it but once I figured it out, it only took me about an hour to get my entire head in curlers!

20130104-203012.jpg

Once I got all the curlers in I let it dry for about 4-5 hours. Normally I would let them dry about 10+ (even sleeping in them overnight) but because I was in a hurry I wanted to ensure they were dry so I used a hand dryer on warm for a few minutes to hit spots I felt were still damp. To my surprise they turned out really well! 20130104-203129.jpg

That night for bed I pulled all my hair up into a bonnet but that didn’t keep them from flattening out 😦 I’ve tried this hair style once more since these pics and so far I’ve been unable to maintain all the curls past one day. Day two always gets pulled into an updo like this… 

By day three I decided to try a dry bantu knot out in an effort to avoid keeping my hair in that dreaded puff.

20130104-203334.jpg

I certainly won’t complain because overall the style was cute and required a bit less work than a twist out. I didn’t feel the curlformers damaged my hair and the stretched curls had very few tangles. They were easy to style when it came time for bantu knots. Give it a try if you haven’t already! You’ll likely be pleasantly surprised!

2 Responses to “Curlformers on 4B/4C Natural Hair”

  1. hawkessa January 5, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    I have a set of the long and narrow curl formers (the blue and green ones) and I also have a hard time getting them to last. I usually do the sides up because that’s what gets flat when I sleep. So far, setting lotion (that foam stuff) holds the curls the best for me and then a light spritz of holding spray when I take them out. The long an narrow ones do tighter curls and work better for me than the wide and long ones. What’s interesting to do is do another curl former set after day two. I didn’t do my whole head, but I tried to re-set the curls that weren’t looking so great and the next day my hair had been stretched even more. I suspect that if you combed out your hair after day two, lightly dampened your hair, and did the curl formers again your hair would do something new. I haven’t had the willpower to try it, but maybe I will soon.

    • @ashleygscott January 14, 2013 at 3:27 am #

      You know what, I’m definitely going to try those blue and green ones. At this point it’s nice to purchase the individual packs to perfect the style. Next time I will definitely try re-doing it on 2nd day hair. GREAT IDEA!

Leave a Reply

