Quinoa for Breakfast

23 Feb

This recipe will be especially useful to those of you on a plant based diet – I’m talking about my fellow vegans, vegetarians, pescetarians, and FLEXatarians out there, lol. I’m not really a “bean +  nut” eater so I have to get creative when it’s time to incorporate high protein foods into my diet. Below find a single serving recipe for this protein packed “oatmeal” alternative. If you’re making this for more than one person don’t forget to double it, etc. Consider making enough for the week and just warming it up in the morning for a quick and healthy start to your day!

Image

This is some quinoa that I purchased in bulk from my local health food store. A little goes a long way so I consider it to be pretty affordable.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2-1whole organic banana
  • 1/4 cup white quinoa
  • 1/3 cup almond milk or almond coconut blend
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Step #1: Rinse the quinoa with water … I usually just put it in a bowl and run water about half way up. Swish it around with my hand then use my hand as a filter to pour the water out. I sometimes repeat this before cooking. <– If you have a better way let me know! I have yet to purchase a strainer but in my mind that would make life easier.

Step #2: Slice the banana really thin. I usually use a whole banana because the organic ones are small and I like the creaminess banana adds to the dish.

IMG_2016

SUPER THIN Banana Slices

Step #3: Add banana slices to a pot with the water, almond milk, and vanilla extract. Bring to a boil. As the temperature rises, use a wire whisk to whip the banana into the liquid until fairly smooth and frothy. <– Ya’ll forgive my terminology. I’m not a chef but I’m trying to break it down! lol

liquid ingredients

liquid ingredients

Add everything except Quinoa to the pot and bring to a boil. This is before the mixture boils...

Add liquid ingredients plus banana slices to the pot and bring to a boil. This is before the mixture boils…

...this is after the mixture boils. Get ready to add the rinsed quinoa to the pot!

…this is after the mixture boils. See how the bananas melt into the almond milk? Get ready to add the rinsed quinoa to the pot!

Step #4: Add quinoa, turn down to medium or low then simmer for 20 minutes making sure it doesn’t boil over. Stir occasionally. You will know it’s done when the grain becomes puffy and rather transparent. It will turn into a mushy oatmeal like consistency.

IMG_2024

This is what it looks like shortly after adding the rinsed quinoa. After about 15 minutes you will start to see the quinoa grains unravel and absorb most of the liquid. Give it a full 20-25 minutes on the stove and it’s ready to eat but it’s not quite there yet in this picture.

Step #5: Pour into your bowl and ENJOY!

Yum! Enjoy :)

Yum 😛

The banana makes this super creamy and sweet! You can hardly taste the nuttiness of the quinoa which actually adds a comforting and wholesome twist to the dish. This recipe makes a great protein filled oatmeal or cream of wheat alternative. Hope you like it! Let me know in the comments below 🙂

♥AGS

2 Responses to “Quinoa for Breakfast”

  1. Bernice February 24, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    This looks like a really nice breakfast!

    • @ashleygscott February 24, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      It’s great! I hope you try and enjoy the recipe 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

